Your Name – Movie Review!

Copy of Copy of desert CAMPING

“I’m always searching for something, for someone. This feeling has posessed me I think, from that day… That day when the stars came falling.”

26205

Honeycomb (3)Whatever I am going to write in this post, my feelings about this movie will still be beyond these words. This movie, or a realistic dream, has that charisma that will leave you spell-bounded. A simple plot line, wonderfully told and beautifully presented.

Directed by Makoto Shinakai, this japanese movie was released in 26 August, 2016 and suddenly became a heart loving sensation. Your Name (Kimi no na wa) defeated the best anime movie of all time in the box office, Spirited Away, which was directed by renowned animation director, Hayao Miyazaki.

Before you leave reading this post, considering animated movie as childish. Consider it my request or whatever, just read till the last. I wish my words will be able to compel you to watch this movie, and once you watch it, there’s no way you won’t fall in love with anime movies. So let’s begin.

Honeycomb (8)

This is story of a highschool boy and girl, who swap bodies. It’s as simple as that, and as complicated as that. The movies tells the story a girl, Mitsuha, living in the rural area of Japan, Itomori, who desperately wants to go to Tokyo, because that’s where her heart lies. The town is too ‘close-knit’ for her destiny, and she wants a life in Tokyo. But her wish gets fulfilled in a strange manner.

777725

Taki, the highschool boy, who is living in Tokyo filled with skyscrapers that are touching the sky, always feels like he’s searching for someone, someone he shouldn’t forget. One day, Taki finds himself in the body of a girl, and that girl is none other than, Mitsuha. Completely confused as what he’s doing in a girls body, he considers it as a dream, and that’s how our story begin about a girl and a boy, slowly slowly unfolding the pages of their destinies. No sooner they understand that they both are not dreaming, but are actually swapping bodies.

48361

If you think the story is about this much, just remember that I am tied in the bounds of ‘reviewer’s rules’ I seriously don’t want to spoil you, just know that there’s so much more to this ordinary love story that will be enough to blow your mind.

Honeycomb (9)

Every scene, every landscape, even the little details that we tend to ignore that are running in the background, are so perfectly carved that if you stop a frame, and print it out, you can hang it on your wall. Animation designs, the amazing effects of starry sky, the beautiful landscape of Itomori (the town where Mitsuha lives) in twilight. It’s all so eye-catching, that you will be left wondering ‘how do people make these amazing stuff’

736461

It’s a great piece of animation work.

Honeycomb (10)

As I have already told you about the characters of Mitsuha (the town girl), and Taki (the city guy) I would love to talk about the side characters in this movie, and how perfectly they are protrayed in this story. Mitsuha’s friends, who help her in the rescue mission. Taki’s friends who help him in finding what he is searching for.

Image result for mitsuha's friends

You will feel like, if they weren’t the part of this story, this story would have been incomplete. Each and every character has a special quality in them. Taki’s ‘would-be-girlfriend’ and Mitsuha’s friend who wants to stay and spend an ordinary life in the town only. Every characters says something, and that’s what will make a space in your heart for them. Amazing and unique characterization!

Honeycomb (12)

If there’s one thing that is like a special ingredient to the dish of animated movies, it’s dialogues. It adds life to the characters and Your Name does this perfectly. Each and every dialogue is beautiful and poetic. The inner thoughts and feelings of a character are so amazingly blended in dialogues that it’s a pleasure to watch this movie. You don’t believe? Now you will.

“Once in a while when I wake up, I find myself crying. The dream I must’ve had I can never recall. But… the sensation that I’ve lost something, lingers for a long time after I wake up.”

48364

Honeycomb (11)

Image result for star ratings gif

Thank you so much for reading this review, I hope you have decided to watch this movie, and if not, I will come in your dreams and annoy you till eternity and beyond! Jokes apart, guys please watch this movie, just give it a try, I know you won’t be disappointed. ๐Ÿ™‚

Till then,

“I wanted to tell you that… Wherever you may end up in this world, I will be searching for you.”

 

29 thoughts on “Your Name – Movie Review!

  1. I was waiting for this review. Very well written Harsh..loved the dialogues and the images.. I wanted to tell you that wherever you may end up in this World, I will be searching for you..such a powerful dialogue.๐Ÿ‘

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You don’t know how much happy I got knowing that you watched the movie and you loved it! haha I am so happy you liked the review, I just wanted more and more people to watch this movie, because it’s soooo amazing!!!
      Yeah, I love this dialogue!!! ๐Ÿ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Woah…๐Ÿ˜ฎ….the way you’ve described it, I am impressed. I must say I’ll definitely watch this movie. And that’s saying something because my sister often says I am hard to impress.๐Ÿ˜๐Ÿ˜ It doesn’t matter if I end up liking the movie or not. What I am saying is you’ve done your job here beautifully. Well done! Truly impressive.
    (P.S. I maybe a 24yrs old girl but I still watch animated movies and I like them. Actually I like them a lot๐Ÿ˜)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Who says anime movies are childish? Hitler? Anyone else? Lol I doubt Hitler watched anime movies too (only if they were made at that time, hahaha)
      But seriously, thank you so much! I am super glad you liked my review. And I am more happy now because you’ll be watching this movie and then we will share out thoughts about it!!! I love Fanboying! Lol ๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Hello, it’s a been a while!!! I am super glad you’re back! ๐Ÿ˜Š๐Ÿ˜Š๐Ÿ˜Š
      And Thank you so much for takinh time to read this review! And I am so glad you have decided to watch this movie… It’s absolutely amazing!
      I will be waiting for that!!! I can’t keep my excitement, lol! ๐Ÿ˜‚

      Like

    1. That’s so awesome! I am super glad you liked watching anime movies Di! Their animation and designs are so amazing! I would love to know the names of those 2 movies…
      I am so glad that now you’ll be watching it!! I really hope you like it! ๐Ÿ˜†๐Ÿ˜†๐Ÿ˜†
      Have a great week! ๐Ÿ˜Š

      P.S. Welcome to my blog! ๐Ÿ˜‚

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Hey there!! I just loved the movie๐Ÿ˜ It’s so deep.. I am awestruck after watching it. Glad you shared ๐Ÿ˜Š And the movie I was talking about is “the wind rises”.. It is also a Japanese amine movie. Do watch it, I think you’ll like it too.๐Ÿ˜Š

        Liked by 1 person

      2. That’s soo awesome, Di!! I am super glad you liked it!
        I knew you would like it, it’s such a good story!
        I will surely watch it soon!
        Thank you so much for letting me know!! ๐Ÿ˜Š๐Ÿ˜Š

        Like

  3. Oooh we looveee Studio Ghibli โ™ฅโ™ฅ and if it’s compared to one of our favourites (Spirited Away) then this must be watched!! This animation reminds us of a movie (that’s not an animation) but we can’t put our finger on it..

    You’re review just wanted us to drop everything and watch this!! Hopefully we get the chance to watch it!
    Great review! ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Even I loved spirited away! There were so deep details, like (evil and good, both look same) and lessons like these, but that ghost character who smile at the girl is still a mystery to me… Hahaha
      Now you’ve made me curious…try to think, which one is it? Haha

      I am sooo glad that my review made you excited to watch this one! Thank you sooo much!
      Yes, do watch it and then please share your thoughts here! ๐Ÿ˜Š

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Yay!!
        Haha you mean “no face” – we too are confused by this ghost thing! ๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚
        We’re pretty sure it was an underrated movie to past time…๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜

        Yes hopefully we get to watch this!๐Ÿ˜Š๐Ÿ˜Š

        Liked by 1 person

      2. It’s alright for replying late – better late than never! (Sorry we replied late๐Ÿ˜…)!

        Unfortunately we did not have the time time to watch this film and we plan to do so with no distractions to fully enjoy such a film!๐Ÿ˜Š๐Ÿ˜Š

        Like

  4. Okay well this review was a hit!!
    You did it well!!!

    Not knowing anything about the movie, I am gonna wait for the next movie review with which I can hopefully relate………

    Happy watching your name!!!

    Like

  5. OMG. I am so seeing this movie!! This sounds so warm-hearted! I never heard of it before so thank you for your amazing review!!
    Actually, I am going to see this today! Delete that… I am going to see this now! ๐Ÿ˜
    I will tell you what I think of it after ๐Ÿ˜€
    Loved your review!! I am terribly bad doing movie reviews hahah

    Like

    1. This movie is so…. BEAUTIFUL and yet heartbreaking! ๐Ÿ˜ญ I loved the graphics, the story, the characters. EVERYTHING! ๐Ÿ˜
      My poor heart was so tense during all the movie! What a wonderful story! I’m crying and laughing and relieved… What a ride.
      Thank you so much for the recommendation! I loved it incredibly much!!

      Like

Leave a Reply

